بهدف رصد الحياة البرية البحرية في البحر الأبيض المتوسط مؤسسة الأمير ألبرت الثاني أمير موناكو ومجتمع جميل يتعاونان مع جمعية موناكو لحماية الطبيعة ومؤسسة بلو اباكوس لنشر أنظمة تحتمائية مسيرة عن بُعد

موناكو
|
23
يناير
2023

في خطوة تهدف إلى الحفاظ على الأنواع البحرية في البحر الأبيض المتوسط، أعلن تحالف يضم مؤسسة الأمير ألبرت الثاني أمير موناكو، ومجتمع جميل، وجمعية موناكو لحماية الطبيعة ،ومؤسسة بلو اباكوس (Blue Abacus)،، وهي شركة تكنولوجية تملكها البروفيسورة جيسيكا ميويغ، العالمة البحرية الرائدة في جامعة غرب أستراليا في بيرث بأستراليا، عن إطلاق مشروع جديد لنشر أنظمة تحتمائية مسيرة عن بُعد بهدف توثيق حالة الحياة البحرية في البحر الأبيض المتوسط. هذا ويستخدم المشروع أنظمة التصوير التحتمائي عن بُعد المزودة بالطعوم (BRUVS) لتصوير وقياس وتحليل تجمعات الأسماك والأنواع البحرية الأخرى. ويستهدف التحالف إجراء مسحين على مدى عام واحد لاستخلاص بيانات قوية تسهم في تعزيز جهود موناكو للحفاظ على الحياة البرية البحرية والحد من التأثير البيئي على التنوع البيولوجي البحري الآخذ في التناقص.

وبهذه المناسبة، قال جورج ريتشاردز، مدير مجتمع جميل: "ما يُميز هذا المشروع أنه يجمع بين تاريخ موناكو الطويل في ريادة علوم المحيطات ومكافحة تهديدات تغير المناخ على البيئات المائية، ومساعي مجتمع جميل بتسخير البيانات ومخرجات البحث العلمي في معالجة آثار تغير المناخ في جميع أنحاء العالم. ونحن متحمسون جداً لهذه الشراكة مع مؤسسة الأمير ألبرت الثاني أمير موناكو، وجمعية موناكو لحماية الطبيعة ومؤسسة بلو اباكوس، في سبيل إتاحة تقنيات حديثة وتوليد بيانات مجدية في مكافحة تدهور التنوع البيولوجي البحري في البحر الأبيض المتوسط وما وراءه."

وقال أوليفييه ويندن، نائب الرئيس والرئيس التنفيذي لمؤسسة الأمير ألبرت الثاني أمير موناكو: "يسر مؤسسة الأمير ألبرت الثاني أمير موناكو أن تتعاون مع مجتمع جميل والعداد الأزرق وجمعية موناكو لحماية الطبيعة، بهدف تحسين المعرفة حول تنوع الأنواع التي تعيش في المياه العميقة لمحمية لارفوتو البحرية.  ويعد دعم تطوير البيانات العلمية من خلال أدوات مبتكرة شرطا أساسيا لضمان الحماية المثلى للبيئة البحرية. ستمكننا الكاميرات من تطوير معرفتنا دون الإخلال بالحياة البحرية التي أعتقد أنها قيمة مضافة حقيقية ".

وقالت جاكلين غوتييه ديبرناردي، مديرة جمعية موناكو لحماية الطبيعة: "سعدتُ كثيراً بتدشين هذه الشراكة بين مؤسسة الأمير ألبرت الثاني أمير موناكو، ومجتمع جميل، ومؤسسة بلو اباكوس، كونها تتيح لنا مجدداً إطلاق برامج بحثية مبتكرة في المناطق البحرية المحمية في موناكو التي تتمتع، على صغر حجمها، بخصوصية فريدة تجعل منها مختبرات بحثية حقيقية في بيئة طبيعية. لقد أجرينا بالفعل العديد من التجارب هناك، والتي يُعزى الفضل في نجاحها إلى دقة أنظمة المراقبة المستخدمة، وقد تحققنا بالفعل من أهمية الدور الذي تلعبه هذه التقنيات في الحفاظ على التنوع البيولوجي في تلك المناطق. كما أن برنامج "بلو اباكوس" سيتيح لنا معارف جديدة عن مجموعات الأسماك في الموائل العميقة مثل القيعان الرملية أو الصخرية الواقعة بين 40 و50 متراً داخل وخارج حدود منطقة محمية لارفوتو البحرية، وسيسهم بلا شك في تعزيز البيانات التي تم جمعها في إطار بحث أهمية المحميات الطبيعية في الحفاظ على التوازن البيئي، وهذا يقودنا إلى التأكيد على الحاجة لمضاعفة المناطق البحرية المحمية على طول سواحل البحر الأبيض المتوسط."

وقالت البروفيسورة جيسيكا ميويج، المؤسس الشريك لمؤسسة بلو اباكوس: "سُعداء بهذا التعاون مع جمعية موناكو لحماية الطبيعة، ومؤسسة الأمير ألبرت الثاني أمير موناكو ومجتمع جميل، والذي أتاح لنا الاستفادة من أنظمة التصوير التحتمائي عن بُعد لتوثيق حالة الحياة البرية البحرية في مياه موناكو. وهي لا شك خطوة مهمة في إعادة بناء مجموعات الأسماك في البحر الأبيض المتوسط، الذي يربط بين أوروبا وإفريقيا والشرق الأوسط، والذي لطالما كانت مصايد الأسماك فيه ذات أهمية اقتصادية واجتماعية منذ القِدم. كما يساعد استخدام "أنظمة التصوير التحتمائي عن بُعد" من بلو اباكوس في مراقبة أسماك موناكو وتنوعها ووفرتها وحجمها، داخل وخارج المحميات البحرية في موناكو، وهذه المعلومات القيِّمة ستمكننا من مواصلة هذه التدابير الحمائية.

وهي لا شك خطوة مهمة في إعادة بناء مجموعات الأسماك في البحر الأبيض المتوسط، الذي يربط بين أوروبا وإفريقيا والشرق الأوسط، والذي لطالما كانت مصايد الأسماك فيه ذات أهمية اقتصادية واجتماعية منذ القِدم.

كما يساعد استخدام "أنظمة التصوير التحتمائي عن بُعد" من بلو اباكوس في مراقبة أسماك موناكو وتنوعها ووفرتها وحجمها، داخل وخارج المحميات البحرية في موناكو، وهذه المعلومات القيِّمة ستمكننا من مواصلة هذه التدابير الحمائية.

تعتمد أنظمة التصوير التحتمائي عن بُعد في تصنيعها على ألياف الكربون ويمكن استخدامها في قاع البحر أو تعليقها في أعمدة مائية، وبهذه الطريقة فهي توثق حالة الحياة البرية البحرية في قاع البحر لأسماك مثل الدنيس، وغيرها من الأسماك المهاجرة إلى المنطقة مثل التونة وسمك أبو سيف. كما توفر صور الفيديو أيضاً مشاهد مبهرة وتعليمية في ذات الوقت عن الحياة تحت سطح البحر في موناكو."

هذا ويتمتع البحر الأبيض المتوسط بتنوع بيولوجي فريد من حيث الموقع وبما يحويه من أنواع بحرية عديدة مثل سمك التونة وأسماك القرش، فضلا عن الأنواع المستوطنة والمهددة بالانقراض مثل فقمة الراهب المتوسطية. ورغم قلة المناطق البحرية المحمية في منطقة البحر الأبيض المتوسط، إلا أن بعض الدول ما زلت تسمح ببعض أشكال الصيد الجائر داخل هذه المناطق. وسيُسهم تحليل الصور الذي أجراه المشروع في توسيع نطاق المعرفة بالبيئة البحرية المحلية في البحر الأبيض المتوسط إلى جانب تحسين السياسات الحمائية الرامية إلى تعزيز قدرة البيئة البحرية على الصمود في مواجهة تغير المناخ.

إعلانات ذات صلة

Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation and Community Jameel partner with the Monégasque Association for the Protection of Nature and Blue Abacus to deploy remote underwater systems to measure marine wildlife in Mediterranean

Monaco
|
23
January
2023

A new project is deploying remote underwater systems to document the status of marine wildlife in the Mediterranean Sea, marking one of the first times this technology has been used in the Mediterranean Sea. Launched by a consortium comprising the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation, Community Jameel, the Monégasque Association for the Protection of Nature and Blue Abacus, the technology company of Professor Jessica Meeuwig, a pioneer marine scientist based at the University of Western Australia in Perth, Australia, the project uses baited remote underwater video systems (BRUVS) to film, count and analyse populations of fish and other marine species. By conducting two surveys over the span of one year, the project will generate robust data to inform Monaco’s efforts to conserve marine wildlife and curb the environmental impact of dwindling marine biodiversity.

George Richards, director of Community Jameel, said: “This project combines Monaco’s long history of pioneering ocean science and combating climate change’s threat to aquatic environments, and Community Jameel’s commitment to leveraging data and evidence to tackling the effects of climate change worldwide. We are excited to be partnering with the foundation of HSH Prince Albert II of Monaco, the Monégasque Association for the Protection of Nature and Blue Abacus to deploy new technologies and generate new data to  fight the decline of marine biodiversity in the Mediterranean Sea and beyond.”

Olivier Wenden, vice-president and CEO of the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation, said: “The Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation is pleased to join forces with Community Jameel, Blue Abacus and the Monegasque Association for the Protection of Nature, with the objective of improving knowledge on the diversity of the species living in the deep waters of the Larvotto marine reserve.  Supporting the development of scientific data through innovative tools is an essential condition for ensuring optimal protection of the marine environment. The cameras will enable us to develop our knowledge without disturbing marine life which, I believe, is a real added value.”

Jacqueline Gautier-Debernardi, director of the Monégasque Association for the Protection of Nature said: “I am very proud of the partnership established between the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation, Community Jameel and Blue Abacus, which will once again make it possible to launch innovative research programs in Monaco's MPAs. Indeed, although small in size and in an urbanised environment, they have the particularity of being real research laboratories in a natural environment. We have already tested numerous experiments there, made possible by the high level of monitoring they benefit from, and have proven the fundamental role they play in the preservation of biodiversity. The Blue Abacus program will bring new knowledge on fish populations, concerning deeper habitats such as sandy or rocky bottoms located between 40 and 50 meters deep inside and outside the limits of the Larvotto MPA, and will undoubtedly reinforce the data collected within the framework of the reserve effect, so important to emphasize the need to multiply MPAs along the Mediterranean coasts.”

Professor Jessica Meeuwig, co-founder of Blue Abacus, said: “We are delighted to be working with the Monégasque Association for the Protection of Nature, the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation and Community Jameel. The acquisition of BRUVS to document the status of marine wildlife in Monaco waters is an important step in rebuilding Mediterranean fish populations.

This major inland sea links Europe, Africa and the Middle East and its fisheries have been economically and socially important since ancient times.

The Blue Abacus BRUVS will be used to monitor the diversity, abundance and size of Monaco’s fishes, both inside and outside Monaco’s marine parks. This valuable information will underpin ongoing management.

The state-of-the-art BRUVS are built from carbon fibre and can be used on the seabed or suspended in the water column. In this way, they document the status of marine wildlife associated with the seabed like seabream and those, like tuna and swordfish, that travel the region. Video imagery also provides a fascinating and educational glimpse of life beneath Monaco’s sea surface."

The Mediterranean has a unique biodiversity with important populations of several marine species including tuna,  sharks as well as endemic and critically endangered species such as the Mediterranean monk seal. Marine protected areas across the region are few and some continue to allow for some forms of fishing within them. The image analysis conducted by the project will further broaden the knowledge of the local marine environment in the Mediterranean and allow for enhanced conservation policies to strengthen marine resilience in the face of climate change.

Related announcements